Connect with us

How to Reset Your Android or Apple Smartphone

Featured

How to Reset Your Android or Apple Smartphone

Why do you need to know how to reset your smartphone? There are various situations you might encounter that call for a reset. If you need to fix a white screen of death or another error, you might need to reset your phone. You might also need to do a reset if you want to wipe your data before selling your phone to someone else. Or you might need to do a reset in order to restore your data from backup files. These are just a few of the reasons you might need to know how to reset your phone. Here are the steps for resetting three of today’s most popular smartphones.

Know What Kind of Reset You Want to Do

There are different ways to reset a smartphone, and it’s important to know what kind of reset you’re trying to do before starting. The simplest kind of reset is a soft reset, which consists of restarting your phone. This is like rebooting a PC.

Another type of reset, known as a basic reset, returns your phone to its default condition without affecting your data. In contrast, a hard reset or factory reset also deletes your data while restoring your phone to its default state.

If you need to do a hard reset, it’s recommended to first back up your data. If you have data stored encrypted on an SD card, you should decrypt it while you’re doing your reset so that you can still read it when you’re done.

Resetting a Samsung Galaxy S8

If you have a Galaxy S8 or another recent Samsung phone, there’s an easy method for doing a soft reset:

  1. Press the Power and Volume buttons together for 10 to 20 seconds until the screen turns off
  2. The Maintenance Boot Mode menu will appear. Normal Boot should be highlighted by default; if not, use the volume keys to navigate to it. Tap the home key to select it and restart your phone.

You will not lose any data by using this method. Any apps you were using will close.

To do a factory reset and delete your data, there are several methods you can use. Make sure you remove your Google Account from your phone before you do a factory reset.

One method is accessed using the same Maintenance Boot screen as a soft reset:

  1. Press the Power and Volume buttons together for 10 to 20 seconds until the screen turns off
  2. The Maintenance Boot Mode menu will appear. Use the volume keys to navigate to Factory Reset. Tap the home key to select it.

If you’re able to access your phone normally, you can also use this method:

  1. Navigate to Settings
  2. Tap to select Backup and reset
  3. Select Factory data reset
  4. Select Reset device
  5. Select Delete all

If you’ve lost your passcode or you’re logged out of your smartphone, you can also use this method to do a factory reset:

  1. Turn off your phone
  2. Press the Volume, Bixby and Power buttons together at the same time and hold until you see the Samsung logo, then wait about 30 seconds for the Android Recovery Menu to display
  3. Press Volume down four times to highlight the wipe data/factory reset option, then press Power to choose this option
  4. Press Volume down seven times to highlight “Yes – delete all user data” and choose this option by pressing Power
  5. Wait about a minute for the reset to finish, then reboot by pressing Power

There are also several ways you can remotely wipe your data. You can delete your data through your Google Account by using Android Device Manager. You can also delete it through your Samsung account with Samsung’s Find My Mobile website. You can also delete it from a computer by downloading Samsung’s Smart Switch app.

Resetting an LG V20

If you want to restart an LG V20 without deleting any data:

  1. Press the Power button until your screen displays a menu
  2. Select Power Off
  3. Wait a few seconds and then turn your phone back on with the Power key

If you want to do a basic reset of your phone to its default condition without deleting any data:

  1. Navigate to Settings and choose Backup and reset
  2. Choose Reset settings

To do a factory reset and delete your data:

  1. If your phone is not already encrypted, navigate to Security and select Encrypt phone, and follow the instructions displayed on screen
  2. Navigate to settings and select Backup and reset
  3. Select or deselect Back up my data and Automatic restore as desired
  4. Select Backup account to create a Google backup account if desired
  5. Choose Factory data reset
  6. Choose Reset phone -> Next
  7. Choose Delete all and OK

If you have a problem using your device’s menus, you can also use the hardware keys to do a factory reset:

  1. First, back up your data on your internal memory
  2. Turn off your phone
  3. Hold the Power and Volume down buttons simultaneously
  4. Choose Factory data reset by using the volume down button, highlighting Yes and pressing the Power button to confirm
  5. Select “Erase all user data and restore default settings” by using the Volume down button to highlight Yes and pressing the Power button

Resetting an Apple iPhone 7

If you want to restart an iPhone 7 or other iPhone without deleting any data:

  1. Press the sleep/wake button until the power-off slider displays
  2. Release the sleep/wake button and slide the power-off slider to the right
  3. Press the sleep/wake button until the Apple logo displays, then release as the phone restarts

If you want to do a basic reset without wiping out any of your data:

 

  1. Press the sleep/wake button and the Home button simultaneously, and continue pressing them after the power-off slider displays until the screen goes blank
  2. When the Apple logo appears, let go as the phone restarts

If you want to do a factory reset of your iPhone, the easiest way is to access a Wi-Fi connection and use iCloud:

  1. Navigate to Settings -> iCloud to choose the items you want to back up, navigate to the Backup button with the green icon, choose it, use the toggle switch to turn on iCloud Backup, choose Back up now, and wait until your backup finishes
  2. Navigate to Settings -> General and tap Reset
  3. Press the blue Erase All Content and Settings option, then choose the red Erase iPhone option
  4. After the reset process finishes, starting your phone should show iOS Setup Assistant. You’ll then need to log in to set up your iPhone again in order to use it.
Comments

More in Featured

Popular

Featured

Noteworthy

Advertisement
To Top