Facebook keep surprising us with many great things.. Today the company has just updated its Facebook application for iOS and Android with a new "Find My Friends" feature. Yes it is similar to Apple’s free Find My Friends iOS app
, Facebook’s Nearby Friends basically notifies you when your friends are nearby.
In my opinion I find this feature very good, because Facebook was designed to encourage people to meet up in real life and help increasing the strength of relation between friends.
As depicted top of post, Facebook will push an alert to your Lock screen if there are friends nearby.“For example, when you’re headed to the movies, Nearby Friends will let you know if friends are nearby so you can see the movie together or meet up afterward,
” explains the company.
To turn push notifications on or off for Nearby Friends, visit Account Settings > Notifications > Mobile Push.
According to Facebook
, these alerts will be issued “occasionally.”
The new feature is available for everyone and it is optional, which means you have the full control ver who can see if they’re nearby or on the move. Other people will only see this information when they also share theirs with you.
Sharing your location with Nearby Friends goes two ways — you and your friends both have to turn on Nearby Friends and choose to share with each other to see when you’re nearby. Your friends will only be able to see that you’re nearby if you share this info with them and vice versa.
Should you want, Nearby Friends allows you to share your precise location with a particular friend(s) for a set period of time. In order to share your precise location with someone, just tap the compass icon to the right of their name and choose whether you want to share your GPS coordinates for an hour, several hours or until you choose to stop.
It’s nice that Facebook does not opt in users to Nearby Friends by default.
When on the go, Nearby Friends will tell the friends who’re using the feature that you’re traveling. “You’ll be able to see the city or neighbourhood they are in, including on their profile,” Facebook explains.
Facebook hinted as much (emphasis mine):
Location History is a setting that allows Facebook to build a history of your precise location. When Location History is on, Facebook will add your precise location to the Location History section of your activity log, even if you leave the app.
To learn more about Nearby Friends, check out Facebook’s help resources
SO what do you think ? Would you like to use Facebook new feature ?